Incumbent Millsboro Town Councilman Larry Gum defeated challenger Denise Blake by 25 votes in the annual town election on Saturday, June 13.

Gum, who represents the at-large district, received a total of 77 votes, and Blake received 52.

Three seats on the seven-member town council were up for re-election — those currently held by Mayor Michelle Truitt, representing District 3; Councilman Ron O’Neal, District 2; and Gum. All of their terms took effect in 2017, and their new terms will end in 2023 . Neither Truitt nor O’Neal had any challengers in this year’s elections.

Other council members are: Tim Hodges, District 1, term expiring in 2022; John Thoroughgood, District 2, term expiring in 2022; James Kells, District 3, term expiring in 2021; Brad Cordrey, District 1, term expiring in 2021.

The council will reorganize in July, at which time the mayor and officers for the next year will be decided. Council members serve three-year terms and receive a small payment of about $200 annually.

Staff Reporter

Veteran news reporter Susan Canfora has written for many newspapers and held positions ranging from managing editor to her favorite, news reporter. She joined the Coastal Point in June 2019. She teaches college writing, tutors and professionally edits.