Candidates abound in 2018 elections, local and beyond

With the July 10 filing deadline now past, the list of candidates for county, state and federal office from Delaware for the 2018 election cycle is now set.

Locally, the District 4 Sussex County Council seat is being sought by Democrat Paulette Ann Rappa of Millsboro, and two Republican candidates who have filed for the seat and will first face each other in a primary: Douglas B. Hudson of Dagsboro and George S. Parish of Millsboro.

Longtime incumbent George Cole, also a Republican, did not file for re-election.

For the District 5 County Council seat, Ellen M. Magee of Selbyville is the lone Democrat on the November ballot. Republicans Kevin J Christophel of Laurel and John L. Rieley of Millsboro will meet in the Sept. 6 primary.

District 5 incumbent Robert B. Arlett of Selbyville, a Republican, had previously announced, and this week filed for, his candidacy for U.S. Senate.

In statewide offices, vying for the District 38 state representative seat will be Democrat Meghan M. Kelly of Dagsboro and Republican incumbent Ronald E. Gray of Selbyville.

In the 41st Representative District, incumbent Rich Collins, a Republican, will face Democrat Bradley S. Connor of Dagboro.

For national office, incumbent U.S. Sen. Thomas R. Carper Jr., a Democrat, has filed for re-election. He will face Kerri Evelyn Harris of Dover in a Sept. 6 primary. Republicans Arlett, Eugene J. Truono of Wilmington and Roque “Rocky” de la Fuente will face off in the September primary. (There is no address given for de la Fuente, as he continues his multi-state filing pattern, which he has said is meant to demonstrate the laxness of candidacy requirements.)

Also filing for the U.S. Senate seat are Demitri G. Theodoropolous of Newark from the Green Party and Nadine M. Frost of Wilmington for the Libertarian Party.

U.S. Rep. Lisa Blunt Rochester of Wilmington, a Democrat and the incumbent, will face the winner of a primary race between Lee Murphy of Wilmington and Scott Walker of Milford, both Republicans, in the general election on Nov. 6.

For State Treasurer, Democrat Colleen C. Davis of Dagsboro will face incumbent Kenneth A. Simpler of Newark in November.

For complete a complete list of federal, state and county candidates, see the Delaware Department of Elections website for Sussex County, at

By Kerin Magill
Staff Reporter