Indian River school board gears up for 2018 elections

Six candidates have filed for three positions on the Indian River School District’s Board of Education. The 2018 election will be held on Tuesday, May 8. One candidate will be seated from each of the three IRSD voting districts up for election this year, with contested elections in two of those districts.

Three candidates will vie for a one-year term in District 5 (Selbyville, Gumboro and parts of Frankford): one-month incumbent Derek E. Cathell of Frankford, Jeffrey W. Evans of Selbyville and Carla M. Ziegler of Selbyville.

Two candidates will compete for a five-year term in District 3 (south Millsboro and north Dagsboro): Dana Probert of Millsboro and incumbent Leolga T. Wright of Millsboro.

There will be no election for District 2 (northern Millsboro and southern Georgetown) because there were no challengers, so incumbent Rodney M. Layfield of Georgetown will win the five-year term uncontested.

All of the terms begin July 1.

Residents do not need to register to vote in school board elections. Eligible voters must be age 18 or older; a United States citizen; a Delaware citizen; and live in the geographic voting district for which they’re casting a ballot.

Absentee voting will be permitted, but people must request and return an affidavit to the Department in of Elections in order to receive an absentee ballot by mail. Or they can vote in person at the Department of Elections office in Georgetown by noon on Monday, May 7.

People can request an absentee affidavit by printing one online, emailing, calling (302) 856-5367) or visiting Department of Elections’ Sussex County Office, 119 N. Race Street, Georgetown.

For more information about voting, candidate lists and IRSD voting district maps, visit