Fenwick cancels council election for second year in a row

On Tuesday, June 16, the Fenwick Island Board of Elections announced nominees for four town council seats with terms of 2009 through 2011. Three of the four incumbents up for election – Vicky Carmean, Todd Smallwood and current Mayor Audrey Serio – registered to run for re-election, while Councilman Chris Clark did not file to run again.

Clark’s seat will be filled by Fenwick property owner Eugene Langan, who was the only other qualified candidate to file to run in the election. And, because the four seats have been filled with no additional candidates, Fenwick Island will not hold a general election on Aug.1, 2009.

The four council members will be sworn in to their new terms during a special meeting in August, after the originally scheduled election date. Each seat has a two-year term. The council will reorganize at the regularly scheduled town council meeting in August, where positions of mayor, deputy mayor, secretary and treasurer will be decided by the council. The other three council seats will be up for election in 2010.

Although there will be no election held this year, Fenwick Island property owners and permanent residents are still being encouraged to register to vote, in the event of a special election. Voter registration applications are available at Town Hall, located at 800 Coastal Highway. The voter registration deadline of June 30 for the 2009 general election is no longer in effect. A new deadline for voter registration go into affect for next year’s elections.