Frankford announces holiday decorating contest winners

For more than 25 years, the Town of Frankford has held a Holiday House Decorating Contest. The contest, which ran from Dec. 12 through Dec. 24, 2009, had more than 40 town residents participate this time out.

Each year, the town has three anonymous judges who ride through town and judge the decorated homes. The judges can be from within the town or just outside. A few years ago, state Rep. John Adkins and his wife were judges.

“It’s pretty fun,” said Town Administrator Terry Truitt of the contest. “The judges will ride around a couple different times. It’s not just one night – it is just finalized on one night.”

The three categories, in which winners were awarded monetary prizes ranging from $10 to $75, were Best Overall, Best Decorated Door and Honorable Mentions.

“Basically, what they need to do was fall into the formats. Best Overall should look great during the day and at nighttime,” explained Truitt.

The contest even had its own little scandal in 2009, when a participant called town hall to report someone tampering with their lighting decorations. When a town council member examined the lights, they determined that the culprit had simply been a rabbit chewing through the chord.

First Prize for Best Overall was given to Robin Davis, with Robert Daisey in second and Crystal Holland in third.

First Prize for Best Decorated Door was awarded to Elma and Lewis Gray, with George Wolford receiving second.

A total of 10 Honorable Mentions were given out, to Joan Clark, Hector Herrera de Leon, Tommy Bacon, Edgar Hearn, Antonio Williams, George Harmon, Daniel Purnell, Ruth Tyre, Kirk Holden and Lester Presley.

The town asked that all of the participants to leave their decorations up until at least the first of the year to allow residents and visitors to enjoy the holiday spirit that was spread throughout the town.