Indians to send eight-swimmers to DIAA preliminaries

Coastal Point • Tripp Colonell: Junior Lindsey Grow will compete in four events at the DIAA state championships.Coastal Point • Tripp Colonell: Junior Lindsey Grow will compete in four events at the DIAA state championships.After making a serious splash at the Henlopen Conference Championships earlier this month, the Indian River High School swim team will be looking to do the same at the DIAA State Championships as well.

The preliminary rounds were set to get under way at the University of Delaware this Wednesday, Feb. 24, and Thursday, Feb. 25, (after Coastal Point press time), with the top 16 swimmers of each event advancing to the finals on Saturday, Feb. 27.

Senior Mason Sanders, sophomore Tylor Wilson, and freshmen Michael Barnes and Dylan Tuttle were all set to compete Wednesday, with the all of them entering both the 200-Freestyle Relay and 400-Freestyle Relay.

Individually, Sanders went into the tournament as the No. 2 state-ranked swimmer for the 50-Freestyle — needing to swing just a few tenths of a second to unhinge No. 1 Jack Portmann (Sallies) to claim a state championship. The Henlopen Conference Outstanding Swimmer of the Year has a similar shot at the 100-Freestyle, ranked No. 4 by a margin of just over a second.

Senior Lauren McCoy and juniors McKenna Burke, Lindsey Grow and Erin Haden will all be trying to make the cut on Thursday, swimming together for the 200-Medlay Relay and 400-Freestyle Relay. The foursome looked likely to advance to the finals with a Top 16 ranking in both of those events, which they earned medals for at Henlopen Conference Championships on Saturday, Feb. 13.

The girls’ were also set for several individual events, with McCoy and Burke slated for the 100-Butterfly, McCoy with a Top 16 ranking in the 100-Backstroke, Grow with a top ranking in both the 200-IM and 100-Breaststroke, and Haden hitting the water in the 50-Freestyle and 100-Freestyle.

Both sessions for Saturday’s finals were already sold out as of Coastal Point press time on Wednesday, Feb. 24.