Candidates can register for 2016 South Bethany election

The South Bethany Town Council has four seats up for election this spring.

Interested candidates may throw their hat into the ring by filing written notice at Town Hall during regular business hours from March 4 to Wednesday, April 13, at 4:30 p.m. There is no registration fee.

Voters will elect three council members, and the mayoral position separately. This year’s contested seats are currently held by Sue Callaway, George Junkin, Tim Saxton and Mayor Pat Voveris.

Winners of the May 28 election will begin a two-year term in June.

Voters must register at Town Hall to participate in town elections. Voters must be U.S. citizens and at least 18 years old by election day. They must either be a town resident (physically residing in the town for at least nine of the 12 months preceding election day); a freeholder (property owner or trustee for at least 90 consecutive days before election day); or the spouse of a freeholder (whether or not their name is on the deed).

Eligible candidates must be at least 21 years old and otherwise be qualified voters. No candidate can have been convicted of a felony or a crime of moral turpitude.

At least four of the seven members of the Town Council must be residents. The mayor must also be a resident.

More information is available by visiting Town Hall at 402 Evergreen Road or at, writing or calling (302) 539-3653.