BREAKING NEWS: Six candidates to vie for Fenwick Island council seats

Once again, Fenwick Island has six candidates for its town council election, set this year for Aug. 6.

Voters can vote for up to three candidates from the following: Gardner Bunting (incumbent), Vicki L. Carmean, Kevin Carouge, Charles W. Hastings, Marc McFaul and Bernard “Bernie” H. Merritt Jr.

Council terms are two years.

Nominees were certified by the Board of Election and accepted by the town council on June 22. An official notice of election will be posted at town hall and online no later than 20 days prior to the election.

Council Members Diane Tingle and Bill Weistling did not file for re-election to their seats.

Voters must be registered at Town Hall to participate in municipal elections. Registration is currently open, and forms are available online or by contacting Town Hall. The deadline to register in person at Town Hall is June 30. The deadline to register by mail is July 8.

Eligible voters must be U.S. citizens and at least 18 by Election Day. They can either be a town resident; nonresident property owner on the deed as of March 1; or the designated voter for an artificial entity (only one per trust or LLC), as authorized by notarized Power of Attorney.
Owners of multiple properties still only get one vote.

Absentee voting will be permitted.

Details are available through Town Hall, online at, by calling (302) 539-3011, or mailing 800 Coastal Hwy.; Fenwick Island, DE 19944.