South Bethany sees six nominees for three council seats

It’s a race! Six candidates have registered for the town of South Bethany’s municipal election, scheduled for May 27, from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Three challengers and three incumbents are on the slate.

Joseph Mormando, Sharon Polansky and Timothy Saxton are running for Town Council seats currently held by Wayne Schrader, Carol Stevenson and Frank Weisgerber Jr.

The two-year terms begin in June.

Voters must be U.S. citizens and at least 18 years old by election day.

They must either be a town resident (physically residing in town for at least nine of the twelve months preceding election day); a freeholder (property owner or trustee for at least 90 consecutive days before election day); or the spouse of a freeholder (whether or not their name is on the deed).

No more than eight people may vote as a “freeholder” or “spouse” per property.

Absentee voting will be permitted. More information is available by visiting Town Hall at 402 Evergreen Road or, writing or calling (302) 539-3653.

Currently, citizens can also apply for the various town committees, including Board of Adjustment, Budget & Finance Committee, Charter & Code Committee, Community Enhancement Committee, Planning Commission, Water Quality Committee and Communications & Public Relations Committee.