BREAKING NEWS: Saxton, Youngs, Headman win in South Bethany

The South Bethany Town Council will have three new faces when the council reorganizes for its 2009 term in the coming weeks, along with a familiar face returning to the council's ranks. In voting on Saturday, May 23, voters selected candidates Timothy D. Saxton, Robert S. Youngs and Joseph "Jay" Headman to fill the three contested council seats with two-year terms. They will join current Councilman John Fields, Councilwoman Marge Gassinger and Mayor Gary Jayne at the council table, as will Diane M. Matera, who was elected by default to complete an unexpired one-year term on the council after her only opponent for the seat withdrew from the election.

Headman was the only one of the three incumbents running for re-election who retained his seat in Saturday's voting. Councilman Richard Ronan and Councilwoman Bonnie Lambertson fell short in the vote count, finishing fourth and fifth in the voting for the three contested seats and their two-year terms.

Vote totals from May 23 were as follows:
Timothy Saxton: 357 votes total (284 machine, 73 absentee)
Robert Youngs: 341 votes total (278 machine, 63 absentee)
Jay Headman: 340 votes total (272 machine, 68 absentee)
Bonnie Lambertson- 158 votes total (128 machine, 33 absentee)
Richard Ronan- 100 votes total (70 machine, 30 absentee)
Michael Matera- 93 votes total (65 machine, 28 absentee)
George Morabito- 45 votes total (26 machine, 19 absentee)

Pick up the May 29 issue of the Coastal Point for more on this year's elections in South Bethany and continuing coverage of town issues.