Realtor of the Year candidates sought by SCAOR

The Sussex County Association of Realtors (SCAOR) is seeking nominations for the organization’s annual Realtor of the Year award. The award, which recognizes a Sussex County Realtor who has exemplified superior customer service and overall excellence during the course of the last five years, is given each year by the county’s only real estate trade organization.

Any Realtor who is licensed in Sussex County is eligible for the recognition, and any member of the public can submit a nomination to SCAOR’s Georgetown office.

“Our member Realtors work extremely hard during the course of the year to ensure that their clients are well taken care of, but they also contribute significantly to the towns and communities where they live and work,” said Bob McVey, 2013 president of SCAOR. “We are looking for those men and women who have gone above and beyond what is expected, those Realtors who have really stood out from the crowd during the last few years.”

Criteria SCAOR is seeking in Realtor of the Year candidates include Realtor spirit, business accomplishments, civic activity, significant contributions and activity with local, state and national Realtor organizations.

Candidates must be current members of SCAOR, and nominees will be judged only on activities and accomplishments within the past five years.

“While we are certainly well aware of the accomplishments of our members, we ask for and welcome comments and feedback from members of the public for this prestigious local award,” said McVey. “We want to hear what you have to say, about your experiences with and knowledge of our local real estate professionals. I urge you to take a few minutes out of your day to submit someone’s name for this recognition.”

Residents of Sussex County who want to nominate their Realtor of choice for this annual award can do so by contacting Executive Assistant Angela Emerson at or by mailing a completed nomination form to SCAOR’s office at 23407 Park Avenue, Georgetown, DE 19947. Forms can also be submitted via fax at (302) 855-2319.

Nomination forms can be downloaded online at The deadline for nominations to be received at SCAOR’s office is Friday, April 26.

Past winners of SCAOR’s annual Realtor of the Year award include Judy Dean, Sue Bramhall, Andy Staton, Bill Lucks and Rob Harman. The 2013 winner will be announced during the organization’s annual banquet later this year.

To read more about issues related to Sussex County’s real estate industry, visit SCAOR’s Web site at